58 Basketball Games!

basketball-pic

“I’ve got a theory that if you give 100% all of the time, somehow things will work out in the end.” Larry Bird

 

 

Basketball was a sport I could not get enough of when I was a kid! Playing in the neighborhood with my brothers and their friends was something I did every opportunity I could while in high school/college. I was always the only female who played! At first, I rarely ever received a pass from any of my teammates so I had to work extra hard to get a rebound! I spent hours working on my shooting so that I would someday receive a pass while playing with the guys so that I could take a shot. Eventually they did start passing the ball to me because I could hit my shots! In high school, I remember doing a shooting competition at the Cumberland Civic Center during a Celtics basketball game. There were three high school girls and three high school boys from the area. It was girls against boys! I ended up shooting against my own brother and won! He wasn’t too happy about that. Once we both graduated high school, he finally congratulated me for my shooting and wouldn’t hesitate to pass me the ball when playing pick up  ball in the neighborhood.!

Fast forward to February vacation 2017 working at the Augusta Civic Center checking in players, coaches, team managers, bus drivers and officials for the Maine MPA High School Basketball tournament… I was able to watch 52 basketball games during my break from teaching! People stopped at my table and asked, ” do you stay here for every game?” I didn’t hesitate to say, “Absolutely!” I enjoy watching the young student/athletes play a sport I truly love! Here it is Friday night and guess what I am doing? Yes, sitting and watching two more basketball games!! By the end of the night I will have watched 54 basketball games in 13 days! They just handed out one state championship gold ball and will hand out another in an hour! Tomorrow, I will be watching four more games…a total of 58 games in 14 days!

T – Together
E – Everyone
A – Achieves
M – More

6 thoughts on “58 Basketball Games!

  1. I am in awe of the dedication you put in! I never knew what a great player you were until a few weeks ago, and now I can totally understand why you are drawn to these games- what awesome memories they must bring back to you! Enjoy your last night – until next year! 🙂

  2. What a great testimony to the benefits of hard work! Two weeks of February break, wow! How nice that you are able to immerse yourself in the sport you love- that is a lot of games!

    • It was 14 days but I had teaching one of those full weeks. I did night games during the week and then had one full week during our Feb. vacation where I was in the gym from 7 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.

  3. That is such dedication! I am sure those who saw you at your table over and over appreciated it. I recently watched our beginning players on the girls’ team at my elementary school in a game.

    Glad to know your brother finally congratulated you! 🙂 That was a good detail to include!

Leave a Reply

