Grandmother Eyes

May 2016, I became a grandmother for the first time. My daughter had asked me to be in the room with her and her husband when she was going to have the baby…what an honor for me! When I had my three children, I never gave it a thought to have anyone else in the room other than my husband. When did hospitals start to let more than one person in with someone when they were giving birth?  I got a call at 4:00 p.m. on May 18th, 2016 from my daughter telling me she was grabbing her over night bag and heading to the hospital to have a baby by C- section. Her doctor told her it was time because her fluid was very low. I was 2 1/2 hours away (I was in Bangor and she was in Portland) from where she was. How could I possibly get down there in time? I threw together some PJ’s, a couple sets of clothes and toiletries and got in the car with my husband. A half hour into the drive, my daughter called me and said. ” don’t hurry mom, they won’t be doing the C-section until 10 p.m. because I ate a cupcake at my work baby shower!” I had to laugh a little because she was a healthy eater. She rarely had sugar! She didn’t want to be rude at her shower so she ate ONE cupcake. My husband and I could slow down on our drive now. No need to rush. We had 5 hours. What a relief. Watching my son-in-law care for my daughter in the hospital room made me feel thankful for such a great guy for my girl. I usually did the things for her that he was doing. I had to stop myself several times from getting up to do what I thought she needed. He always knew what she needed. Once baby Miles was born…I watched with my grandmother eyes two young adults truly in love be overjoyed with their new addition to their family. I was now a grandmother! When did my baby grow up? How did 26 years go by so fast? I stayed with my daughter and grandson in the hospital for two nights so my son in law could make sure everything was ready for the two of them to go home. I so wanted to go home with them to show them how to care for their new son! I knew I needed to give them their time alone as a family so they could figure it out for themselves. Being a mother in law and a grandmother is very rewarding. I now have a 9 month old grandson and a 6 month old granddaughter.

Grandchildren complete the circle of life!

16 thoughts on “Grandmother Eyes

  1. I just love the title of this piece and how you talk about having grandmother eyes. Seeing the world anew just as Miles did for the first time. Loved reading your story.

  2. What an honor to be asked to be there! You were right to leave them without going home with them, so that they could start their own life together. How nice that you live close enough to see them regularly. I wonder with sons who are 23 and 25 if I will ever get to look with grandmother eyes on my own grandbabies.

  3. What a great story and what a great honor. We invited my mom into the room for our first born — she had been a nurse — but she passed away before the other two were born.
    Kevin

  4. Everything about this post is so tender and authentic to how to live that balance of mom and grandmother. So happy to hear what life is like at that stage. I’m still not able to believe that my oldest will be a freshman in high school in the fall. Thank you for your perspective!

  5. Natural instinct to help your own child is hard to stop. Good for you for recognizing that they needed to do it on their own. I know it isn’t always so easy for you to step back! So happy that you are able to enjoy being a grandmother. Lucky grandkids, lucky grandmother!

  6. How wonderful to have captured this special time in your life. I have three grandchildren, and they are the new loves of my life.

  7. You’ve made that transition from mother to grandmother so smoothly and naturally. You are the consummate nurturer, Maureen. Your kids are so lucky to have a mom who will be there for their own kids with love and support. What a beautiful moment to ‘slice’ about!

Leave a Reply

