Procrastination

Why do I always put off doing my assignments? I am trying to finish up my National Boards with Components 3 and 4. I have had all year to do Component 4. I needed to videotape 2 lessons from my classroom and write 2 papers Describing, Analyzing and Reflecting on those lessons. I have the videos done and 1 paper started.I have not even started doing Component 4 at all. Everything is due by May 17th! I will get all of it done but why do I procrastinate? My excuses are: spending time with family, working basketball games,exercising, cleaning, teaching,shopping, chores at home, professional development…several other things!!

I started this post yesterday and here I am not finished yet. I have fed four dogs, spent time with my 6 month old granddaughter, nursed my niece’s dog’s ear after my own dog decided to protect his bowl of food, cleaned out my niece’s cats litter box and feed them since she is away, scanned and sent my tax information to my tax man, read home emails, wrote out a couple of birthday checks for mother in-law (who lives with me) to send out and brushed all four dogs that live in the house. Time has flown by this weekend and I have not done ALL the things on my list. Hopefully, I will get to them all in the next few days so I can cross some more off my list!

8 thoughts on “Procrastination

  1. I hear you! I can sometimes get frozen when “all the things” start swirling around in my head. Then I try to breathe, make a to-do list, and tackle one thing at a time. Best of luck to you!

  2. Sometimes it’s just priorities that keep those “other” things undone. I find when it’s something I don’t want to do, I set a time to do it, no matter what. Works for me, but good luck in finding what works for you!

  3. You’ve got this Maureen. We’re a team and we are all going to meet that deadline! Plan ahead for the snow day this week and set “Tiny Goals” Take 15 minutes here and there, don’t wait for big slabs of time…they never happen!

  4. As the queen of procrastination, I hear you! I am also a deadline person and know it will all get done, but maybe not when I would like or as well as I would like. It sounds like you have plenty on your plate!

  5. Yes, yes and yes! But how could you not procrastinate when you have such a sweet face like the one on this page to stare at? πŸ™‚ I know the feeling. I always wonder how much easier things would be if I didn’t procrastinate. But I haven’t NOT done it, so I’m pretty sure I’ll never know. But you seem confident that you’ll get it done which makes me confident that you’ll get it done. Good luck and thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

