One of the Guys!

0313172142_hdr-1.jpg

I grew up in a family with 7 kids. I have four older siblings and two younger. My two oldest sisters wanted nothing to do with sports. They seemed to be busy working or hanging out with their friends. I tagged along with my two older brothers…mostly with my brother Timmy because he had the Gift of Time in first grade so that put us in the same grade from then on! Everyone thought we were twins. We played recess kickball, floor hockey, wiffle ball…anything that involved a ball. I always did what he did so when he tried out for Little League baseball, I was right there with him. The people running the league would NOT let me play because I was a girl. I did not think that was fair but I did not know what to do about it. I had to be a spectator that year. The next year, I tried out for Little League again. They tried telling me that I could NOT play again because I was a girl but this time I brought my dad with me. He spoke up and told them if I was not as good or better than some of the guys then they could cut me. Well, I had no problem making a team. I ended up as the starting pitcher and playing shortstop when I wasn’t pitching. I made the All Stars too! The All Star coach did NOT like that he had a girl on the team. He didn’t have a problem with telling me also. I should have been the starting pitcher for the first game but he started his son instead. We were losing in the 5th inning and finally put me in to pitch. I remember striking out the side in 9 pitches for the last two innings! I ran into that coach about 20 years later and he apologized to me for not starting me in that game!  He told me it was because back then he thought girls were not as good as boys in sports but realized he was wrong. I continued playing baseball with the guys because they did not start softball for girls until my 9th grade year in jr. high (high school was 10th, 11th and 12th at Deering High School  then).

6 thoughts on “One of the Guys!

  1. I am happy to say that, in some places (like here), times have changed. We have girls playing with boys in Little League, although most shift to Softball in the older divisions. I’m glad your dad stood up for you.
    Kevin

  2. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this! You are such a great role model and have always had that “Can Do” attitude. I think you gave those boys, coaches, and fans a lot to think about and dispelled a lot of notions about girls! YOU GO!!

Leave a Reply

