Sleep

O sleep! O gentle sleep! Nature’s soft nurse.

William Shakespeare

I try to tell myself daily that I will go to bed around 9 p.m. so that I get enough SLEEP and can get up at 4:15 a.m. to exercise. I tried exercising in the evening but it would wind me up even more! I could never fall asleep! By the time I get home after school around 6 p.m. or 6:30 p.m., I take the time to eat, pick up around the house, feed and brush the dogs and cat, spend a little time with my hubby/family and do class work or work on NBPTS. Why can’t I be disciplined to get to bed on time?  I am never tired at 9 p.m. so I continue to do work! Most nights I get to bed between 11-12 p.m. or later.  I know we should get 7-8 hours of sleep daily so what should I do? Do you get enough sleep? If so, do you have to work at it? When I do finally put my head to rest on the pillow, I keep thinking about what happened in the classroom for the day, could I have done anything different, are my students excited about school and learning…the list goes on and on!  My husband and I purchased a new bed from Sleep Number. I thought having a real good bed would make a difference…NO! The bed is very comfortable and I love being in it but it has not changed my bedtime!  What are the things I should be trying to get the right amount of sleep?

 

9 thoughts on “Sleep

  1. Another one who does not get enough sleep here. Seems stress is what is keeping you from sleep. One thing I did last year was join Angela Watson’s 40 Hour Teacher Workweek to help me be more efficient- baby steps.

  2. Sorry for your sleep challenges. This is a hard week because of DST, but perhaps you don’t have it. I don’t know where you are! I don’t have trouble going to sleep, but this week I’m tired in the am, because it’s really earlier, at least per the time change. It will get better. What if you set a goal to think of all that school stuff before you get into bed? Good luck!

  3. I’m in the same boat as you Maureen. I can’t seem to get there before 10 and can’t stop thinking, reading, working in bed until 11+pm. I know how important sleep is, but I have an inertia problem!!

  4. I know there are a lot of us trying to answer the same questions when it comes to getting enough sleep. I find kids are not getting enough sleep either. Some of my students as young as third grade speak of being up as late as 11 or 12.

  5. I felt so badly! A friend asked us for a jump at 10 p.m. on Wednesday night. Even my grad students know that I go to be at 9 and turn off my phone, or it will be pinging all night. My husband leaves him phone on in case my mom might need us in an emergency. I cannot function for more than 48 hours with not enough sleep and have been known to sleep on the couch just after work/before dinner. Hoping you catch up this weekend.

Leave a Reply

