Coffee/Water

organ coffee picDo you need a cup of coffee before you do anything else in the morning? I absolutely do! Before going to bed I always put my coffee maker on auto for the next day. I love waking up to the smell of coffee! My coffee cup is set out ready to go so all I need to do is poor some coffee, add some organic stony field half and half, cinnamon and honey then I’m ready to drink!  There are some days I only have one cup of coffee at home and grab a cup of coffee to go but then other days I make a cup around 3:00 just so I have energy for the afternoon.

Water…I know the recommended amount is around 64 oz a day but I usually only get in about 40! When I do get more than that, I have to head to the bathroom several times a day and that is very hard to do with 6-7 year olds in the classroom. There are two bathrooms right in the room so I can dart into one of those when needed. Some teachers label one of the bathrooms for teacher only and let the students use the other bathroom. I have thought about that but there are twenty-two of them and only one of me so why would I do that? I encourage my students to bring their own water bottle daily and leave it in their cubby so they can take as many drinks as they need throughout the day. I have several kids who choose to do that. I know how important it is for kids to get their water in daily too! I did revert to the pop up water bottles only in the classroom because 1st graders forget to put the cap on tight with the other ones. Years ago, I would have BIG  water spills on the students work and it would drive me crazy.

water pic

5 thoughts on “Coffee/Water

  1. Yes, I like my coffee in the am, but not again. I am an iced tea drinker later, even in winter. And I have a glass of water with the permanent straw. Seems like I drink more that way.

  2. I am not a coffee drinker and rarely make time for tea during the week. I always have a water bottle at school and try to make myself drink throughout the day. The only way I get enough water is if I schedule it (this much before school starts, this much by break, etc). Good idea for a slice.

Leave a Reply

