Chizzle Whizzle

My son had asked me a couple of months ago if my husband and I could watch Ariana and Carter (our grandchildren) for the evening so him and his girlfriend could go out with some friends…which they rarely do! Of course, I told him YES! Last week my husband came home and told me he bought tickets to Chizzle Whizzle Cleverly Wicked theme (The nation’s longest-running student variety show, in its 126th year). There was one problem…he bought the tickets for Friday night…the night we were suppose to watch the grandkids! We decided the grandkids would go to the show with us! I was a little worried how it would all work out having to bring a 6 month old and a 5-year-old to a show that lasted from 7:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

We arrived right at 7:00 p.m.(we had gone out to dinner with some friends prior to going to the show and were running a little late) and ended up walking in right when the first act was walking on to the stage. It looked like we were a part of the show! We got all settled into our seats and started watching the show. An hour and a half had gone by and both Ariana and Carter were wide awake watching the show paying attention to everything. Then it was intermission time…Carter and Bruce went to get water in the lobby and Ariana and I visited the lady’s room. Have you ever tried using the bathroom wearing a baby carrier? I didn’t realize how difficult it would be.One hand on the baby because the space in the stall was very limited and I didn’t want her head to hit then trying to actually go to the bathroom. It took me a good 3 minutes! How do young mothers do it? I should have had my husband take her to get water but I had not thought of that prior. We then went back in for the second part of the show. Both of the grandkids were very good during the second part of the show. I thought for sure they would fall asleep or need to get up and move because sitting that long is NOT usual for these ages!We could not have asked for better grandkids! The Chizzle Whizzle show was very entertaining and it was FUN to see some of my past first graders involved in the singing, dancing and performing on stage! What a great way for the students to highlight their talents! The Cony staff, students, alimni and community look forward to the show every year!

13 thoughts on “Chizzle Whizzle

  1. Wow, the show sounds like it had lots of acts to keep the 5 year old entertained, and the noise probably helped with the baby. You are a brave woman!

  2. Gosh, I remember having 3 kids under the age of 2. I am impressed you managed it….even getting in and out of those stalls can be so tight! That part made me laugh out loud. You and your husband are an adventurous bunch.

  3. I have never heard of Chizzle Whizzle. Must be quite a show to keep them both entertained throughout- not many kids could sit that long I dare say. Your bathroom description was funny- I do not know how you did it!

Leave a Reply

