Small Grouping/Assessments 1

Doing formative/summative assessments and flexible small grouping is ongoing in my classroom. I kind of wish someone else would come into the classroom to do the end of trimester assessments needed!  I do learn a lot from the one on one informal assessments but I would love to just do the everyday teaching of whole group, small group and one on ones! Organizing all the things needed for small grouping is a BIG challenge. How do you honestly organize your student assessment things/small grouping for the different subjects? Trying to keep up with 22 students and their guided reading levels, literacy skills, writing skills and math fluency levels is very challenging for me!  How do you manage all of those? I just finished the 2nd trimester running records, writing prompts and number sense assessments and want to make sure I am challenging my students that need it and give enough intervention to those who need it.

My students are reading every day but I am thinking of trying grouping by literacy skills instead of F & P levels for the rest of the year. What do those groups look like in your classroom? For Literacy, I am grouping by F & P leveling this year. Should I finish with Walpole and McKenna’s Differentiated Instruction? If I do, what would my Daily 5 Word Work station look like? I have a hard time differentiating the word work area. There are times a low student wants to partner up with a high student and they want to play the same game (Example…Going fishing for words). In that station, one of the choices is the first 100 Fry words Fishing game. The lower students have trouble with some of the first 20 words and the higher group can easily do all 100 with no problem…should I go back to grouping by ability for the stations? I will continue this slice topic in another post!

5 thoughts on “Small Grouping/Assessments 1

  1. I don’t know how classroom teachers keep up with all of it! (I am an ESL teacher.) I have a friend who is a fourth grade teacher who is amazing at keeping track of everything. I think her success is mostly because it is part of her personality to be very organized. Also, she has been teaching over 20 years.

  2. You bring up some real concerns and questions here. I love Tammy Mulligan and Clare Landrigan’s Messy Sheet. Not sure it is an answer to your questions, but it’s something I discovered that teachers seemed to respond to.

Leave a Reply

